Hey Guys!

It’s that time again. Top 5 Tuesdays. I can’t believe I’m writing my second top 5 already. Blogging is so much fun but I can already see that it’s going to take a lot of hard work.

With this dull and dreary weather I decided to share with you my top 5 favourite bright lipsticks. You will see from the pictures below that there’s a trend. I just LOVE purple lipsticks. When I have on my purples I feel fierce and ready to take on the world. All of these lipsticks are super affordable which is a big thing for me. You don’t need to spend hundreds of rands if you’re looking for a fabulous bright lippy but that shouldn’t stop you from buying your higher end one if that’s what you want and can afford.

First up we have the Avon Perfectly Matte Lipstick in Splendidly Fuchsia. This shade could be described as a cool bright medium pink. It really makes my lips pop. The best thing about these lipsticks for me is that even though they are matte it doesn’t dry my lips out at all. It applies so creamy and velvety and doesnt feel heavy on my lips.

fuschia
Splendidly Fuchsia from Avon at R79.95

 

Then I have another Avon Perfectly Matte Lipstick. You know I love my Avon lol! This one is called Hot Plum. The shade is so unique, like a mix between a hot pink and purple. The formula is also so easy to work with. The awesome thing about these lipsticks is that they are usually on special every second month or so. In the August brochure they are going for R149 for 2 or R79.95 each.

hot plum
Hot Plum from Avon at R79.95

 

Then we have L.A Girl Matte Flat Velvet Lipstick in Love Triangle. This shade is stunning, it’s a true regal purple. The pigmentation is extremely intense. I wear this lipstick if I really want to stand out.  It’s been said that Love Triangle can be a dupe for MAC Heroine. I’ve attached a picture found online of a swatch comparing the two shades as I do not own MAC Heroine to compare it for you. The finish of this lipstick is a true matte. It does pull a bit on my lips so it’s best to apply a lip balm beforehand. You can find L.A. Girl Cosmetics at Dischem.

la girl
Love Triangle from L.A. Girl at R49.95

love triangle

 

Next up is Wet ‘n’ Wild Megalast Lip Color in Purty Persimmon. I got myself this lipstick when I wanted to try out orange for the first time. You could call this an orangey-red shade. It’s a matte lipstick but not as drying as other mattes. So if you want to try the orange trend then this is a good shade to start off with. It has also been compared to MAC So Chaud. Attached is a picture I found online. You can find Wet ‘n’ Wild cosmetics at Clicks.

 

wet n wild
Purty Persimmon from Wet ‘n Wild at R48.95

Wet-n-Wild-MegaLast-Lip-Color,-Purty-Persimmon-970-swatch

 

The next one isn’t a matte lipstick and you’d be surprised to know where I bought it. This one is called Femme Lipstick by Kleancolor in Fiesta. Another purple yes lol!. The formula is nice and creamy and just slides on the lips, it kinda looks like a very pigmented lipgloss. The staying power isn’t very good though so you will have to top it up throughout the day and also use a lipliner as it tends to bleed into fine lines.  Whenever I wear this lipstick I get so many compliments and people are always shocked to know that I got it from Ackermans, a local clothing store here in South Africa to my international readers. You can see by my picture that this lipstick is well-loved. It’s almost finished 😦 A cheapie but a goodie.

fiesta
Fiesta from KleanColor at R24.95

So don’t be afraid to use cheaper but good quality cosmetics. You’d be surprised at the gems you could find. I hope I managed to add some brightness to your day and that you enjoyed this post as I definitely enjoyed putting it together. I’m already thinking what I can discuss is my next top 5.

Till Next Time

Hugs and Kisses

Nadez

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Tuesday: Bright Lipsticks

Leave a Reply

