Hey Guys!

Today I thought I’d share a recipe with ya’ll. With this low carb lifestyle I am on, I always have to think of new and exciting recipes. One of the things that can get you down when dieting is boring and bland food so I am always on the hunt for healthy alternatives to my favourite foods. I also need to ensure that these recipes are low in carbs and high in fat.

Fish cakes are a regular in our household but it’s usually made with tinned pilchards and bread. I can’t have either of these so I needed to improvise. So I got a tin of tuna and instead of using bread to bind it I used Heba Pap. Heba Pap is a combination of flours that are allowed in the banting diet such as almond flour and coconut flour. I use this a lot in my recipes.

heba-packet

 

This recipes yields 4 small cakes. That would be dinner and lunch for the next day sorted. I just judged by the eye when it came to some of the ingredients.

So check out the recipe below…

Ingredients

1 tin of tuna in water or oil drained

1/4 small onion grated

1/4 small tomato grated

1 egg

1 teaspoon Dijon mustard

1 teaspoon crushed garlic

1 teaspoon parsley

1 tablespoon Heba Pap

salt , pepper and chilli flakes to taste

olive oil to fry

Method

Chuck all your ingredients in a bowl. Mix with a spoon or your hands. Form 4 balls and press into small patties. Fry the patties in olive oil till golden brown.

img-20170731-wa0005.jpg
All my ingredients in a bowl

 

 

IMG-20170731-WA0006
My uncooked patties

 

IMG-20170731-WA0004
All cooked and yummy

 

And that’s it hey. It’s super easy and packed with flavour. A perfect banting friendly dish. I had my fish cakes with a green salad and green beans fried in butter and garlic.

IMG-20170728-WA0001
Served with green beans and salad

 

 

I will continue posting recipes for you guys. So keep your eyes peeled for the next one.

Till Next Time

Hugs and Kisses

Nadez

Leave a Reply

